This summer, pool service contractors, builders, and installers who work in the state of New Jersey will be required by law to be licensed.
The law, introduced in the legislature by Sen. James Beach, assemblyman Wayne DeAngelo, and assemblywoman Annette Quijano, was recently signed by New Jersey Gov. Phil Murphy and will go into effect July 30, 2019.
“Through the advocacy efforts of the Northeast Spa & Pool Association (NESPA), and our PennJersey and Metro NY/NJ chapters, this law was developed to protect not only the residents of New Jersey, but also the contractors and their employees that provide these services,” said NESPA executive director Dominick Mondi. “By establishing a minimum level of training required for a pool contractor to work with electricity in and around a pool as well as other equipment, including heaters, pumps, drain covers, and essential barriers to pool entry, this license will markedly increase safety for everyone who works or plays around a pool or hot tub.”
Under the law pool and hot tub builders/installers will be required to hold an Association of Pool & Spa Professionals (APSP) Certified Building Professional (CBP) designation. A pool and hot tub service contractor will need an APSP Certified Service Technician (CST), Certified Service Professional (CSP), or Certified Building Professional (CBP) designation. Hot tub service contractors will be able to hold an APSP Certified Hot Tub Technician (CHTT).
Service companies with employees in the field not under the direct supervision of a licensee will be required to have three years of practical experience and hold an APSP Certified Maintenance Specialist (CMS) designation. Employees cleaning pool equipment and components, performing pool vacuuming, sanitation of water and backwash filtration will be exempt from this requirement. Companies will be responsible for training its employees to undertake these services.
“With other states and counties in our region already having licensing in place, we are ready to help builders and service companies doing work in New Jersey be prepared for when this new law goes into effect this summer,” says Mondi. “We are here to answer your questions, connect you with training programs, and help you step-by-step through this process.”
For 24 months after the law’s effective date there will be a grandfathering period where it is not necessary to achieve the certifications if the following can be provided:
- References from at least one trade-related business and one financial institution to verify business existence;
- Certificate of good standing less than 30 days old from the secretary of state of New Jersey or the state where the company is incorporated; and
- Three current references from APSP members attesting to knowledge and skills as a service contractor or builder/installer.
For more information about the licensing requirements, visit NESPA’s website.